Friday, August 26, 2011

Amad (Alternate Take) - Duke Ellington and orchestra

The Far East Suite is an album by Duke Ellington and his orchestra, recorded in New York City on 19 December to 21 December 1966. The nine compositions on the original album were all composed by Ellington and Billy Strayhorn.

Cootie Williams — trumpet
William "Cat" Anderson — trumpet
Mercer Ellington — trumpet & flugelhorn
Herbie Jones — trumpet & flugelhorn
Lawrence Brown — trombone
Buster Cooper — trombone
Chuck Connors — trombone
Jimmy Hamilton — clarinet & tenor saxophone
Johnny Hodges — alto saxophone
Russell Procope — alto saxophone & clarinet
Paul Gonsalves — tenor saxophone
Harry Carney — baritone saxophone
Duke Ellington — piano
John Lamb — bass
Rufus Jones — drums

No comments:

Post a Comment